Campbell Union High School District

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu
Boynton high school students in San Francisco
del mar high school students
Prospect students and principal Paul Pinza
Branham High School latino student union
leigh high school project lead the way class
westmont high school graduation
Leigh High School Students
C.U.H.S.D. New Teachers at orientation
Coronavirus (COVID-19) School Closure Updates and Information » CUHSD Reopening Steering Committee

CUHSD Reopening Steering Committee

CUHSD worked in partnership with CHSTA to launch a Reopening Steering Committee in May 2020. This committee was comprised of teachers, administrators and District Office personnel with the goal of developing a set of recommendations for the Superintendent to consider on how to reopen schools for the 2020-2021 school year. These recommendations address the impacts of school closures and the likelihood of an ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. 
The committee launched a set of subcommittees to develop recommendations by topic (see list below) and shared recommendations with the full committee. The subcommittees represented a membership of 76 teachers, classified staff, administrators, and district office staff across sites and subject matter expertise.
Reopening Steering Committee Recommendations to the Superintendent 
Reopening Steering Committee and Subcommittees Information
Wednesday, May 6
Monday, May 11
Wednesday, May 13
Monday, May 18
Wednesday, May 20
Tuesday, May 26
Wednesday, May 27
Tuesday, June 2
Wednesday, June 10
Thursday, July 2
Monday, July 6
Wednesday, July 8
Name Site Position
Abra Evanoff District Office Dir. Student Services
Anna Lucas Del Mar Science Dept. Chair
Brittany Cole Branham English Learner TOSA
Cesar Cabrera-Contreras Del Mar Art Teacher
Chris Nalls Branham Marching Band
Crystal Adams Leigh Assistant Principal
Daron La Franchi District Office Dir. Special Education
Dave Becker Westmont Special Education Teacher - English
Dianne Leo Westmont English Teacher
Emily Hanson District Office Dir. Curriculum & Instruction
Erika Miguel Branham Counselor
Erin Hinshaw Prospect English Teacher
German Cerda District Office Assistant Superintendent
Jason Miller Westmont Principal
Jenee Fawson Westmont Language other than English Dept. Chair
Jennifer Hall Boynton Social Science Dept. Chair
Jennifer Orlick District Office Dir. Innovation
Kira Durant Del Mar Social Science Teacher/Tech TOSA
Leslie Tatsuta CACE Administrator
Melissa Fales Leigh Social Science Teacher
Michael Espinoza Branham English Teacher
Robert Bravo District Office Superintendent
Sarah Foy District Office Coord. Community Engagement
Steven Turner Branham Math Dept. Chair
Subcommittee Role Members
Student Wellbeing & Community
Co-Chair Cesar Cabrera-Contreras Erika Miguel German Cerda Michael Espinoza    
Volunteer Member Kristie Geist Amanda Davison Kevin Nguyen Eve Walton Bari Sholomon Tessa Corona
Community Engagement
Co-Chair Dianne Leo Sarah Foy        
Volunteer Member Paul Pinza Nathalie Goricanec Sharon Ortegon      
Highly Effective Instruction
Co-Chair Chris Nalls Emily Hanson        
Volunteer Member Sayuri Chen Laurel Garceau Katie Bennett Holly Royaltey Lynette Jackson Tiffany Padia
Continuum of Instructional Plans
Co-Chair Anna Lucas Erin Hinshaw Jennifer Hall Jennifer Orlick Kira Durant Steven Turner
Volunteer Member Barbara West Archana Nekkar Sameen Shoenhair Matt de Cesare    
Student Services Ops Co-Chair Abra Evanoff Melissa Fales        
Student Services Ops - Attendance Volunteer Member Teresa Wagster Sharon Ortegon Cathie Watson-Short Lindsay Shubert    
Student Services Ops - Discipline Volunteer Member Rick Hayashi Jeff Bengford Mike Posey Kerry Murphy    
Student Services Ops - 504 Volunteer Member Justin Ponzio Denise Stephenson Jen Sorkin      
Student Services Ops - Extra-Curricular Volunteer Member Courtney Schembri Laura Saldaña Kim Bartel Stacey Chase    
Student Services Ops - Athletics Volunteer Member Christina Hillman Marita Beard Kerry Murphy      
Special Ed Ops
Co-Chair Daron La Franchi Dave Becker        
Volunteer Member Chee-Ah Thao Leanne Haghighi Cynthia Williams Terri Lopopolo Ophelia Gomez Taylor Wakefield
Student and Staff Safety
Co-Chair Crystal Adams Jason Miller Leslie Tatsuta      
Volunteer Member Nancy Torres Pfeiffer Veronica Ramirez Debbie Phalen Charlie Webster Bobby Joe Stewart Rory McCarthy
Address Learning Gaps
Co-Chair Brittany Cole Jenee Fawson        
Volunteer Member Bobby Joe Stewart Katie Bennett Kiran Grewal Monica Perez Sanchez Leticia Molina  
Community Input
To gather feedback from families and students, the committee has met with the District English Learners Advisory Committee (DELAC), the Superintendent’s Student Advisory Council, and the President’s Council (a group of parent site representatives) to gather additional input.
As part of the broader stakeholder feedback process, the committee developed surveys in May to gather feedback from staff and parents/guardians about options for reopening schools in the fall. You can see the results by clicking on the links below. 

Staff May Reopening Survey


Parent/Guardian May Reopening Survey (English)


Parent/Guardian May Reopening Survey (Spanish)


You can also use the information below to see results from the Learning from Home student survey, which was sent to all students via email in early May to learn more about their experiences during distance learning.


Learning from Home Student Survey

Username: 4369401

Password: LFHS4369401!1655