Please refer here Information on minors and employment for any questions related to Work Permits for Minors.
Except in limited circumstances defined in law and summarized in the Child Labor Law Booklet, all minors under 18 years of age employed in the state of California must have a permit to work.
Prior to permitting a minor to work, employers must possess a valid Permit to Employ and Work. The Permit to Employ and Work are issued on the same form. A Permit to Employ and Work in industries other than entertainment is usually issued by an authorized person at the minor's school. During summer months or when school is not in session the work permit is obtained from the superintendent of the school district in which the minor resides.
Typically, after an employer agrees to hire a minor, the minor obtains from his or her school a Department of Education form entitled "Statement of Intent to Employ Minor and Request for Work Permit". The form must be completed by the minor and the employer and signed by the minor's parent or guardian and the employer. After returning the completed and signed form to the school, school officials may issue the permit to employ and work.
Permits issued during the school year expire five days after the opening of the next succeeding school year and must be renewed.
DURING THE SCHOOL YEAR INSTRUCTIONS (1st day of school through mid-June or when school site closes):
- Complete the work permit application in full to include the employer information and your parent or legal guardian's signature.
- Return, via EMAIL, the signed application along with the following required documents. It is not possible to issue a work permit without this information:
- Original signed Social Security card
AND one of the following:
- Original passport
- Original birth certificate
- California drivers license
- California issued identification card
- Your work permit application will be processed within two business days.*
- Only the requesting student may pick up the official work permit.
- Take the original work permit to your place of employment.
- Students need to maintain a 2.0 GPA
- Work Permits will not be issued if you have outstanding bills at your high school
SUMMER WORK PERMIT INSTRUCTIONS (Mid-June to 1st day of school):
Your high school can issue your summer work permit during the regular school year. See the instructions above. If your high school is closed for summer break, summer-only work permits will be issued from the District office.
Download the Work Permit Instructions and Application Form and email them along with scans of the required documents above to Jessica Morales via email to JMorales@cuhsd.org. If you do not submit the required documents, your request cannot be processed.
All requirements and procedures are the same as noted above except: Summer work permits will be ready the next business day & summer work permits expire 5 business days after the start of the new school year.
If a Work Experience student:
*Shall complete and have all parties sign the Work Site Training Agreement
*Includes parent/guardian permission for approval of work hours and availability
If a Workability student (see case manager for assistance):
1. Original Social Security card (copies not accepted)
2. Proof of age (original birth certificate, birth registration, passport, or driver’s license)
3. Student must have a minimum of a 2.0 GPA
4. Student shall have no outstanding bills at their home school
Home and Hospital students
*Work permits issued by Sarah Thomas, Boynton High School
If you have been released to CACE and are under age 18, you must have the following:
1. Student must have a minimum of a 2.0 GPA
2. Original Social Security card (copies not accepted)
3. Proof of age (original birth certificate, birth registration, passport, or driver’s license)
4. Letter on CACE letterhead stating student is enrolled, attending, and has been attending class for at least 2 weeks
5. Student shall have no outstanding bills